Blogging 101 Day 1

I started this blog what seems like ages ago (2012) when I traveled to Japan (for the first time) with my family, Mother and Daughter. I’ve written off and on…more off than on, unfortunately, since that first trip. But I want to blog more, like every day more. So, I signed up for Blogging 101 (and Writing 101). This is the first ‘assignment.’

The ‘who I am’ is pretty easy…I’m me…a single mom to a very talented 16 year old daughter. I’m a huge advocate of world travel. I’m a cook…because no one else in my house (Mother and Daughter….and five cats) will cook. I’m a business owner, I sew bags – purses, totes, messenger bags, and the like. I’m a college graduate but never finished my MA/PhD (it’s just too pricey now to finish and with no guarantee of a good job.) I love Japan.

Now to the ‘why am I blogging (publicly)’. Well, why not. The world used to be such a huge mysterious place. To some it would seem scary, while to others fantastically exciting. Now, whereas the mystery, scary, and fantastically exciting still remain, the hugeness has shrunken drastically. I have ‘friends’ all over the world now…people who I never would have met if it weren’t for the internet. So…I want to blog (on a more continuous basis) publicly to share my stories, to read other’s stories, and maybe…make more friends.

Disclaimer….I have loads of ‘real-life’ friends who I talk and hang out with pretty frequently. I’m not doing this to cling onto ‘internet’ friends….

14 thoughts on “Blogging 101 Day 1

  1. This sounds like a really interesting blog. πŸ™‚ There isn’t anything wrong with making friends online as well as having “real life” friends. I can’t wait to read about more of your adventures. Nice to meet you. πŸ™‚

      1. I was in Japan last year for Sakura season (March – April). The first time there was during the winter. Temps were around 40β—‹F – 50β—‹F….infinitely warmer then here at home. Our winters, in Wisconsin USA, tend to be brutal, not Siberia brutal but brutal none the less. I’m not a fan of the cold either.

      2. Guess you may have unlocked the perfect winter temperature – not too cold and you can still enjoy it! It takes me almost a week to even get used to 15-16oC. Wisconsin, USA – any chance you know Katrina Kozar and if she’s made her way to Paris? hehehehe!

        Masterchef Season 6 is on fire!

      3. I’ve lived here all my life and I’m still not used to weather that cold LOL. I don’t know her but I’m sure I’ve seen her or at least one of my friends knows her. Milwaukee is a pretty small city. Mastercef is one of my favorite tv shows 😊

      4. Are you also a fan of the beaches? I’ve yet to travel to Japan at all! Usually head to Beach destinations for that Sun. Oh, and i’ve not been to the USA as well. I hope she continues to make waves in the culinary scene.

        Didn’t expect the latest kicked-out (avoiding names in cause you’ve not caught the latest episode)! 2 more episodes to go!

      5. Oh no spoilers please LOL….I have not been to any beach in Japan…yet! We’re looking to move there in about two years so I’ll have loads of time to hit up a beach or two πŸ˜‰ I’ve lived in the US all my life. Some areas are really beautiful but our politics and economy are really making this country ugly….in my opinion 😦

      6. The World has it’s eyes on the States I suppose, saw some headlines yesterday. Perhaps in 2 years it’ll be a great time to move to Japan for you?

        Have you yet to watch the latest episode of Masterchef?! :O hahahaha!

      7. I missed the last episode! I’ll have to catch it on re-run or online.

        As for the States….I disagree with many people here. I’m a huge anti-gun person, pro-helping out the less fortunate (I’ve been there a few times myself), and very much anti-Monsanto….just to name a few hahaha

      8. It’s a country that accepts it all and you’ll be first class citizen. That’s very nice of you to helping out the less fortunate, now extend that to me too (like you already are)!! ahhahahah!

        Same page on the anti-gun as well!

        Catch up with MasterChef! Thurs is the semi-finals already!

Leave a Reply

