Adventures with long hair

So, I’m letting my hair grow again. I need to trim the ends a bit but that’s all I’m going to do…oh and trim the bangs too. Because I’m letting my hair grow, and it’s half-way down my back now, I tend to get warmer in the Dog Days of Summer. So, most of the time I have my hair pony-tailed and up off my warm and sticky skin. With this in mind, when I do have my hair down I forget how long it’s gotten and it leads to situations such as the following:

Scenario 1:

I need to plug in the cord for my phone charger. The outlet is behind the couch. Instead of getting up off the couch, walking to the side of said piece of furniture, and plugging said cord into the outlet, I opt for the ‘easier’ method – kneel on the cushion, lean over the back of the couch and plug the cord into the outlet. Problem #1 – my hair is down. Problem #2 – I forgot that my hair is down. End result – I end up leaning on my hair – not just in one place but two – and get completely stuck. I honestly could not move. It did, however, lend hours of giggling for the kiddo.

Scenario 2:

I go walking almost every morning with my Mom and daughter. I’m the one who ends up driving, which – if you’ve ever driven with my Mom – is fine by me. We leave fairly early, 7am is the latest that I like to leave the house, and 90% of my neighbors haven’t left their houses yet. However, I don’t leave the house with my hair up….it’s just not what I do. So, I get to the car, get in, close the door, go to buckle up the seat belt and can’t move….my hair has been firmly closed in the door. Open the door, pull my hair into the car with me, close the door, and continue. *Note* – this happens almost ALL the time and why I don’t remember is beyond me.

Scenario 2.5:

When I drive around, except on the freeway, I keep the windows down to get a breeze in the car and to not have to turn the a/c on. When I get to where I need to be, or on the freeway, I roll the windows up. When my hair is down 9 times out of 10 it will hitch a ride with the window and proceed to get nice and secure at the top of the window. This is far more problematic, and I imagine humorous, when I’m on the freeway.

Scenario 3:

Bedtime. The time when I should be relaxing to the fullest and getting ready for the next day. This doesn’t happen with long hair….that isn’t pulled up and secured. I, undoubtedly, will wake myself up at least a half dozen times through-out the night because I have gotten wrapped up, not in the sheets, but in my own hair. Sometimes it wraps itself around my neck and feels as if my own hair is trying to choke me out. Sometimes it gets wrapped up around my arms – usually via the armpit area – as if it’s holding me down. It’s terrifying at first, then downright annoying. I have since gotten into the habit of securing my hair up prior to retiring to bed.

I think that’s enough for now. Maybe I’ll continue this saga at a later day with more horrifying and humorous adventures with long hair

Leave a Reply

